Uncategorized

Midnight Jewel – Minion Review

If you read the Glittering Court and hated it , I can totally relate with you . And if you haven’t yet and are wary of it with all the people hating it , don’t worry , you can have a better version of the book to read instead !

Midnight Jewel (The Glittering Court, #2)Midnight Jewel by Richelle Mead

Genre : Young Adult- Fantasy -Romance

Rating : ★★★

Blurb :

A refugee of war, Mira was cast out of her home country and thrust into another, where the conditions were inhospitable at best. In a life-altering twist of fate, she is given the chance to escape once more, and she takes it, joining the Glittering Court.

Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. There, Mira finds herself subjected to persecution, not only from her fellow Glittering Court jewels, but from her suitors, as well—men she would potentially be expected to give her life to.

By day, she goes through the motions, learning the etiquette and customs that will help to earn her anonymity, even making a couple true friends in the process, the forthright ladies’ maid Adelaide and the ambitious laundress Tamsin. But by night, Mira hatches a different plan entirely—one that, if exposed, could get her hanged in the highest court of Adoria.

 The Minion : 

Admission 1 : I loved this book better than the first one .

I usually hate reading the same story twice as two different books , but I just couldn’t resist getting this one . Mira was one of the very few characters from Glittering Court that  I was actually interested in and I couldn’t wait to know about her .

And I’m glad I did pick this .  Mira is who made it better , I guess , with a natural flowing voice and to see the world of Glittering Court through her eyes was nice . She is brave and strong and only a little reckless and I adore her ❤ . And the world building was so much better too !

The only thing I didn’t like was that it didn’t end being an epic read either . Mead tried to create more drama , but that didn’t really go well .

PS : I hate the first book . So if you haven’t read the first one yet , I definitely think you should skip over it and pick this instead .

Blog Twitter Instagram Facebook


Have you read it yet ? What did you think of it ? 


 

9 thoughts on “Midnight Jewel – Minion Review

  1. I read the first one and was disappointed because it didn’t feel like a new original story. Plus I was hoping for more since I love richelle mead’s vampire academy series! I may pick this one up now though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree that I liked Mira’s story better than Adelaide’s, but I thoroughly enjoyed both books. I have read almost every single book written by Richelle Mead (I have a couple of her Dark Swan and Georgina Kincaid books to finish), so while I don’t think this series matches my enjoyment of the Bloodlines series or her Age of X series, I still really like them, and I’m looking forward to reading Tamsin’s version of events next year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

