Uncategorized

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

31450451 (1)Genre : Young adult-Thriller

Theme : Dystopia

Buy on amazon

Goodreads

The summary : 

There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be – whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

My thoughts : 

If you know me , you also know that I’m a sucker for fantasy , adventure and crazy fiction . That basically means I don’t do the ‘disbelief’ emotion when it comes to a lot of things . But the problem with this book is..a lot of ‘whys’ don’t add up .

The problem is , nothing anyone ever does makes sense . Why does he do that ? Why the hell is this thing happening now ? Why the heck am I still holding this book ? Well , I’ve got no idea .

It’s surely a weird Dystopia , with a ‘secret organisation ‘ planting spies known as Love interests to spy on influential people . And the Nice and the Bad on the summary are two spies sent to compete for a girl . Sounds weird yet ? Let’s also say that’s illogical .  I get why they send the spy ..but two ? Really ? Did you just run out of assignments ?

And why are the antagonists bad at everything they do ? I mean , they’re a huge , old organisation and they can be taken down by teens with zero effort ? Like , honestly ? That’s rich .

The best part of this book was that it stands up and voices for LGBT people .  Yep , Caden starts developing feelings for his rival …and Caden is the protagonist . The subverting of the love triangle was refreshing and I’d love more of that in the YA books . Like come on , who wants triangles any more ? I like a straight line with only two ends better .

But that’s also where the biggest problem about this book comes along . It just tried to tell so much in one shot . I loved that this book was meaningful but none of them were actually represented . It could’ve been easily one the best books if the author had held back and subtly told the readers of everything . That’s sad because I know I could have loved this book .

The writing and prose was also not great and neither was the narrative . I don’t really think Caden was charming enough to deliver the depth of the story . It could’ve used a third person narrative or first person from someone else . Like Dylan .

The book wasn’t terrible . Personally , what hurts me the most about this book and the review I’m giving is , the book could’ve been so much and my review could have been a rant about its awesomeness but no . I will follow up on Cale , though . I see a lot of potential . And this is a debut book and maybe I’m being a little too harsh .

This book is available on amazon

3 thoughts on “The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

Leave a Reply

