Uncategorized

Rose Petal Graves : Where Pocahontas Meets A court of Thorns and Roses

Rose Petal Graves (The Lost Clan #1)I have a new crush …but that’s not who you think it is


Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein

Genre : Young Adult

Theme : Native American Fantasy

Rating: ★★★

Summary : 

Ancient secrets cannot remain buried forever.

Founded two centuries ago by a powerful tribe of Gottwa Indians, Rowan was a quiet town, so quiet that I fled after graduation. Staying away was the plan, but Mom died suddenly.

Dad said she suffered a stroke after she dug up one of the ancient graves in our backyard, which happens to be the town cemetery. Creepy, I know. Creepier still, there was no corpse inside the old coffin, only fresh rose petals.

As we made preparations for Mom’s burial, new people began arriving in Rowan, unnervingly handsome and odd people. I begged them to leave, but they stayed, because their enemies—my ancestors—were beginning to awaken.


My thoughts : 

The ‘I have a crush’ was probably not the right start because I’m head over heels now and it’s far past just a ‘crush ‘ !

What am I talking about ? 

So you looked at the cover image , right ? You just can’t be a visual person if you look at and don’t fall for it ! I mean , just look at that . The designer did the most wonderful job with that book and I’m already thinking of the top #1 in a ‘best cover pages’ list . I’m undone people ..that black with pink , it’s captured my attention and I can’t stare past ( yeah , I’m a ‘book-ish drama queen )

Coming to the story ( do we have to ? Already ? ) , I’m going to tell you I loved certain parts of the book . I loved the starting part of the and how it moved but most especially , I loved the concept of the book so much .

I personally thought I could relate to Catori in at a level . I’m just like her- I say I’m a genius and I can take emotional stress but that’s not me . I just like hiding what I really am ( I’m a creepy monster hiding in your closet lol ) . But here’s the problem, I don’t believe the author meant for Cat to come out that way . I think she was supposed to be ‘kickass’ . Yeah , well , she’s just another damsel in distress .

The book sure took a circle from good to okay to ‘bah , that’s boring’ , terrible and back again . It was weird to read a book that way . I guess if Miss Olivia were working with a big time publisher , she’d get a lot of things changed in her books which would make the real better elements of the book stand out .

While I’m at it , I might as well tell you that the book is about a ‘non-real and very made up native tribe ‘ . You read that right ! It’s not about any existing tribe but is about a tribe Miss Olivia made up so she doesn’t end up offending people . I don’t know what to say about that .  I know some people might think this is very offensive…but wasn’t the point itself to not offend ? Doesn’t that change the game here ? I hate offensive books but I think this was innocent unlike ( you guessed it ! ) Tiger’s curse by Colleen Houck .

But the book was not for me . I’m weird because I want romance in a romance book and more action in fantasy books . I don’t want romance in a fantasy book . Or let me rephrase it , I don’t want people who can’t keep eyes off each other for a even a minute . That’s cheese , yo , and it’s better left for romance books ( where it’s amazing ! ) . But this book was all so romantic for me . Yeah , the first part of the book was okay but the insta-love is still there and the ‘omg he’s amazing’ is also there ( maybe it’s just me who felt it , but I think the author was trying hard to keep it from looking that way ) .

And Cat is annoying . She just keeps doing things for everyone that it’s just not okay . But a part of me understands . You know , I’m one of those people , again . I’m a really idiotic person who does things for people even though I don’t trust them a lot because there’s always a maybe . And I’m bad with ‘no’s . But the way I see it , I’m a lot younger than Cat , so Cat must probably be more un-naive ( whatever ) .

There’s a love triangle but I’d have tolerated a love triangle better than a tragic ending of the triangle . I didn’t understand why the guys were all for Cat , but whatever . The triangle was still better than a straight line with two ends which was the result of a tragic something for the third end ( am I making sense ? ) .

On a final note , I think this book was okay . But I can see why it’s not for a lot of people . Many people complain that Cat is illogical , but I truly get her . I’ve been around people like her and I’ve been with myself , so I can see why she does the things she does . And the best thing about this book for me is , I can connect with Cat in a lot of ways . I’m actually studying to become a doc. , so you can see why I can connect to her , especially with the ‘I can’t say no ‘ syndrome .

Do I recommend this ?

I’m not sure . I guess you’ll have to take your chance with this . If you want a spoiler before buying it , just tell me and I’d be more than willing to oblige . But honestly , I did enjoy the book as an overall .


Do you plan on reading this one ? Or are you requesting the sequel via the book tours ? 


 

2 thoughts on “Rose Petal Graves : Where Pocahontas Meets A court of Thorns and Roses

    1. Totally . But I think you can give it a try . From the reviews on GR , it seems people think it’s good . Not for me , though lol 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

